Yum!

Tonight’s dinner and appetizer was awesome and I just had to share! Mom- I totally want to make this for you while I’m home!

We had ham and cheese crescent rolls as an appetizer. It was so so easy and tasted amazing! You get 1 tube of crescent rolls, 8 slices of honey ham, and around 8 slices of thin american cheese. You put one piece of each ham and cheese per roll, and bake them at 350* for 17 minutes. Lightly browned and PERFECT when they come out 🙂

Then, I tried something new! And something that totally didn’t go with the appetizer (OOPS!). I tried a healthy version of chicken fried rice. I’ll type ingredients/directions as clearly as I remember!

1 Tbsp. sesame oil
1.5 cups diced chicken breast
Salt/Pepper to taste
A dash Cayenne pepper

1 Tbsp. sesame oil
3/4 c. Frozen mixed veggies
3 green onions-chopped
1 Egg whisked with 1 tsp. sesame oil
1 tsp. minced garlic

Brown Rice
Soy Sauce/Teriyaki Sauce

I started by cooking the chicken in the wok oil with seasonings to taste. Once finished, I placed it to the side while I finished the rest. I then heated up the sesame oil and placed both the veggies and onion in the pan. I let them soften for a few minutes, and then added the garlic. 5 minutes passed and then I added an egg, already whisked with 1 tsp of oil, into the middle of the pan, cooking it to a soft scramble.

The rice is cooked seperately, about 2 cups– I used the basic brown rice that is quick cook!

After all the ingredients have been prepared, I put them all into the skillet to flavor it with soy sauce and teriyaki sauce.

Needless to say both Gregory and I were impressed with my skills tonight!! It was super easy, done in about 30 minutes, and was relatively healthy!

One thought on “Yum!

Leave a Reply

